Back to Top

Syrup Grades

For the consumer, choosing the perfect grade is all about personal taste.

People often ask how we make certain grades of syrup and our answer is that it’s all up to Mother Nature – the weather, temperature, progression in the season are all factors that contribute to what comes out of the evaporator on that given day. Once maple syrup is made, we use a grading system that’s determined by the State of Vermont to classify maple syrup into four grades: Golden-Delicate, Amber-Rich, Dark-Robust and Very Dark-Strong Taste. The maple syrup is classified by two descriptive words – color and taste (flavor) to determine their grade.

goldenGolden with Delicate Taste
Light, golden color with a mild, delicate maple flavor. Excellent as a table syrup or over ice cream or yogurt.






amber1Amber with Rich Taste

A light amber color and full-bodied flavor. A perfect choice for consumers who desire the classic maple syrup flavor. Great for a table syrup, pancakes or waffles, and cooking/baking. This is the most desired choice by consumers.






Dark with Robust Taste
A dark amber color with a more pronounced maple flavor, this class will satisfy those consumers who desire the strong flavors of what has been known as Dark Amber and Grade B. Great for baking and cooking.